Last-Minute Tacos with Peanut Butter Sauce

This afternoon, my boyfriend sent me a text telling me he was coming home for his lunch break…

IN 15 MINUTES!!

His lunch break only lasts 30 minutes, and since I was home this afternoon I thought it would be nice to cook him something that would be ready for him to eat when he walked in the door.  Needless to say, I felt a little rushed!  I ran to the fridge and looked inside: tahini, hoisin sauce, carrots (that were going soft), celery, corn tortillas, cashew milk…My options seemed a little slim.  So I decided on a hobo style taco.  The accompanying sauce is what makes this taco so magic.

Peanut sauce in the works
Peanut sauce in the works
Love that sear on the carrots and celery
Love that sear on the carrots and celery
These disappeared very quickly!
These disappeared very quickly!

And in just 15 minutes I created a meal that I was pretty damn proud of!  Honestly, I think some of my best tasting recipes come from times where I’m forced to be creative and use what I’ve already got in my fridge and pantry.

So here’s a quick little thing to throw together when you basically have nothing in your fridge.  I am a huge fan of coming up with recipes by using what I’ve got – even when I don’t seem to have a whole lot of anything.  In this case I had squishy carrots and celery that was starting to get pretty floppy.  Now, you can pretty much use any type of veggies you like, since the sauce is what takes these tacos to the next level.  I imagine another good veggie combination would be mushrooms and broccoli.

Anyways, let’s get to the recipe already!

 Last-Minute Tacos with Peanut Butter Sauce
Serves 1

3 corn tortillas

Place on a pan in oven at 200 degrees fahrenheit while cooking the filling and sauce

Sauce:
2 Tbsp cashew milk
1 Tbsp peanut butter
1 tsp liquid aminos
1 tsp tahini
1 tsp hoisin sauce
A squirt of sriracha, to taste

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl together and set aside.

Filling:
2 carrots
2 celery stalks
1 Tbsp olive oil
Pinch of salt

Heat olive oil in a pan on medium high heat.  Peel and chop carrots into chunks.  Slice celery. Place carrots and celery in the heated pan and, using a wooden spatula, toss the veggies around the pan to coat in the oil.  Let them cook for a few minutes before tossing again so they brown nicely.  Cook for 6-7 minutes total, or until they are softened but not mushy.  Take the tortillas out of the oven and place the filling in each of them.  Top with the sauce and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Last-Minute Tacos with Peanut Butter Sauce

Leave a Reply

