Roasted Garbanzo Beans with Hoisin Sauce and Sriracha

Feeding a Frontier Vegan

My boyfriend is a self-titled frontier vegan, meaning the only animal products he will eat are the ones that he gets while out hunting.  This weekend he is heading out into the wilderness for his annual deer hunting trip.  So, since he is working today before he leaves and I had the day off, I decided to help him out and make him some healthy and yummy things to eat while in the Eastern Oregon woods.

Last year's hunting trip (and no, I did not partake)
Last year’s hunting trip (and no, I did not partake)

Yesterday, I had picked up a pound of dried garbanzo beans that I wanted to try cooking in my new Hamilton Beach Rice Cooker and Steamer that my amazing mom bought me last weekend.  Lately I’ve been hearing so many things about roasted garbanzo beans and thought this was the perfect opportunity to give them a go!

The beans soaked and cooked overnight and were ready to be roasted this morning (you can totally use canned beans if you don’t want the hassle of cooking your own).  This morning, after groggily munching on some cooked morsels, I divided the beans into two batches because I wanted to experiment with a few flavors.  The first batch I used paprika and garlic salt.  The second batch had me feeling a little spicy, so I used hoisin sauce and sriracha.  I was super happy with how these turned out, and I’m pretty sure Jordan will be too.  While the first batch was definitely toasty and tasty, I preferred the second flavor combination; you can’t go wrong with hoisin and sriracha!

Toasty Toasty
Toasty Toasty
Ovens give great mood lighting
Ovens give great mood lighting

I’ve included the recipe for my Roasted Garbanzo Beans with Hoisin Sauce and Sriracha below.  When cooking, be brave and play around with the written measurements.  I never stick to a recipe; I always just wing it as I go, adding and subtracting flavors and taste testing the entire way until I’m satisfied.  I feel like a mad scientist sometimes when I’m in the kitchen, and I’m often throwing things in at the last second, because what the hell!  Cooking should be fun!  Use my recipes as guidelines, but make changes to suit your tastes.  Feel free to experiment with other flavors as well, since cooking is all about exploring.  I want you to feel inspired when you’re in the kitchen.  You are the artist and the food is your paint, so go out there and Bob Ross the shit out of your next meal, because, “Remember, there are no mistakes, just happy little accidents!”

Happy little chickpeas!
Happy little chickpeas!

Roasted Garbanzo Beans with Hoisin Sauce and Sriracha

Cooking the Dried Beans (if using canned, skip ahead to Roasting the Beans):

1 lb. dried garbanzo beans

8 cups water

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/8 tsp baking soda

Pinch of salt

Rinse the dried beans in a colander and check for stems or anything that is not a bean.  If you have a rice cooker/steamer, continue to follow the instructions laid out in this paragraph.  If not, here is a great site that gives some nice instructions. If using a rice cooker/steamer, set the delay for at least 6 hours (I did 7 so it would soak overnight), and choose the Heat/Simmer option setting it for a cook time of 90 min.

Roasting the Beans:

1 Tbsp hoisin sauce

Squirt of sriracha

Olive oil

Cooking spray

Pinch of salt

Dash of garlic powder

Preheat the oven to 450° F.  Drain the beans (if using canned, make sure to also rinse them too!).  Place the beans in a large mixing bowl and add the hoisin and sriracha, and drizzle a little olive oil on top.  Mix so that all of the beans are coated.  Eat a few to test the taste (and because it’s the best part of cooking).  Adjust the flavor if needed.  Take a baking sheet and cover with aluminum foil and coat with cooking spray.  Spread the garbanzo beans out on the foil in a single layer and bake for about 40 minutes, checking on them at 30.  They should be crunchy and browned.  I like mine a little on the burnt side, so I usually cook them for 42 minutes.  When finished, take them out and let them cool a little, or as long as you can handle before attacking them (I lasted about 15 seconds).  Store them in a lidded plastic tub once they are completely cooled.  They can make a great salad topper or soup topper if you can resist eating them all before then.

My next batch is going to take on some cozy fall flavors with nutmeg, maple syrup, and cinnamon, so keep an eye out for that!

I’d love to hear your ideas and thoughts, so feel free to leave a comment below!

6 thoughts on “Roasted Garbanzo Beans with Hoisin Sauce and Sriracha

  1. I have made them twice now. They are really yummy and addictive and surprisingly easy. Both time mine have turned out a little too burnt so I Amy reduce the oven temp next time and/or the length of time I leave them in. I actually have been munching on them at my desk at work for breakfast. This is one of my new favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

