Rustic Vegan Pizza with Kale, Leeks and Pears

Pizza, How I Love You So

You know how everybody has that one meal that they say they could eat for the rest of their life?  Well, for me it’s pizza!!  There are just so many different things you can do with it, with endless possibilities.  When I went vegan that was the one thing that just broke my heart; I honestly thought that I wouldn’t ever be able to create a mouthwatering pizza without the fresh buffalo mozzarella and parmagiano regiano on it.  Boy, was I wrong!!  I have created some of the most complex and delicious tasting pizzas I’ve ever had since going vegan.

Homemade Dough
Homemade Dough

IMG_1537

Today’s homemade pie was the Queen of all pizzas.  It was so delicious that I made it for lunch AND dinner!  It was light and yet had so many layers.  The crust was perfectly golden brown and crunchy – my favorite!  To achieve a super crunchy crust, I turn the oven up as high as it will go, which for our oven is 500° F.  It sure warms our tiny house up pretty darn fast, making this a perfect meal for these cooler fall days!

IMG_1551

My solo attempt at transferring pizza to pizza stone
My solo attempt at transferring pizza to pizza stone

When I made it for lunch today (Jordan came home on his lunch break to have it), I didn’t have a second pair of hands there to help me transfer it from my cookie sheet  pizza peel to the oven, so rustic is definitely a proper description of the end product.  However, the taste was still all there and the lumps and bumps added to it’s homemade charm!

Rustic it is!
Rustic it is!

Tonight, thanks to Jordan’s awesome idea, we decided to give the pizza an added decadence to separate it from our lunch pizza: a balsamic reduction!  It took this rustic little pizza to a whole new level.

The moment of truth...moving from the peel to the stone!
The moment of truth…moving from the peel to the stone!
Much better transfer from peel to stone when you have a partner!
Much better transfer from peel to stone when you have a partner! (Pre-Balsamic Reduction)

OK, Let’s Get to the Point!!

Rustic Vegan Pizza with Kale, Leeks and Pears

This recipe uses my Homemade Pizza Dough

(Serves 2-3)

1/3 serving of Homemade Pizza Dough (or medium dough ball from local pizza shop)

2 Leeks, cleaned and sliced

1 Cup kale leaves, separated from the center vein

1 Red anjou pear, sliced thin

Olive oil

1 Garlic clove, minced

Rosemary (fresh or dried)

Salt

1/2 Cup balsamic vinegar (good quality)

Preheat the oven and pizza stone to 500° F.  Prepare the dough as directed in my Homemade Pizza Dough, having it sit on a floured pizza peel or floured cookie sheet for 10-15 minutes after stretching it.  While the dough sits after stretching, heat 1 Tbsp of oil in a medium pan at medium low and place the leeks in, cook until softened, about 10-15 minutes.  While those cook, take a small sauce pan and heat 2 Tbsp of olive oil and the minced garlic over low heat for 10 minutes.  When the olive oil and garlic have heated, place them in a small bowl and set aside.  Place the kale in that newly emptied sauce pan to soften for a couple of minutes.   Take another small sauce pan and heat the balsamic in it at medium high, until it just begins to boil, then reduce it to a simmer.  Once the balsamic reduces its volume by half, take it off the heat and place in a small bowl.

Take your stretched and settled pizza dough and spread the garlic olive oil over it, covering the surface with a thin layer.  Next, scatter the leeks all over the pizza, leaving a inch of the outer edge of the dough uncovered.  Now place the kale all over the pizza in the same manner.  Finally, layer your pear slices evenly over the kale.  Sprinkle rosemary and salt over the top, to taste.  Gently, slide the pizza onto the pizza stone, being careful because it will be HOT.  Place on an upper rack in the oven for 12-14 minutes, checking on it at 10 minutes.  When the dough is golden brown, take it out of the oven and set the stone on a rack to cool for 5-10 minutes.  Drizzle the balsamic reduction, which should now have a syrupy consistency, over the pizza with a spoon; a little bit goes a long way!  Enjoy!

I’d love to hear from you!  Please feel free to leave a comment below!

3 thoughts on “Rustic Vegan Pizza with Kale, Leeks and Pears

    1. Thank you!! Well I prepared the dough earlier in the day which helped a lot, and the ingredients whipped up in less than 15 min. because I’m about having multiple things cook at once, so that they all finish around the same time. That’s taken a lot of practice! I used to be much slower at making pizza too, I definitely took about 2 hours when I was first starting out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

