A Reflection of Today’s Yoga Class

The First Step on the Path of My New Yoga Journey

Today was my first studio yoga class!  The last time I took a teacher-directed yoga class was at the Michael Franti Soulshine Yoga Tour in the June 2014, which was amazing!!!   My only practice since then has been at home, either to videos or following my own whim.  I have been seriously considering making yoga a greater part of my life over the past year, and decided that now was a good time to open up and create that space for it.  I am ultimately directing my intention to teaching yoga in the future.  However, this process of being taught is a journey in and of itself!

My sister and I at Michael Franti's Soulshine Yoga Tour
My sister and I at Michael Franti’s Soulshine Yoga Tour

Yesterday, I decided to walk into my local yoga studio in Hood River, and purchase a membership. I went with the 3 month commitment.  This membership allows for unlimited yoga, meditation and fusion classes, which are taught all throughout the day. I can work them in around my work day, which I love!  I also had to buy a new yoga mat to use when I go to the studio because my current mat (a basic style) is covered with dog hair. I chose to purchase one of the more expensive and better quality styles, as a form of intention.  I figured if I am wanting to take my yoga practice seriously and to the next level, then it’s time to upgrade my mat.  Even just using it for the first time in today’s class, I can already feel a significant improvement between the new mat and my old mat!

♦   ♦   ♦

I’m going to be honest and say, that as excited as I was for today’s class, I was also equally nervous.  I was nervous with what to expect, with a new environment, a new teacher and new peers.  When I walked into the room those nerves slowly dissipated as I saw students in various poses and relaxation, freely preparing themselves for the upcoming lesson.  Everyone, of various ages, genders, and levels, was in their own state of calm and their own space, in a very open, accepting and loving way.  I soon came to realize that there was no reason to fear; this was a non-judgemental and pressure-free zone.  The space is set in a historic downtown Hood River building with brick and stone walls, a wood floor, street level windows that let in filtered light.  The room was lit dimly, and there was more than enough space for the roughly 15 students that were there.  It was a 60 minute alignment vinyasa flow class. There were some gently challenging sequences throughout the practice that allowed us to face the discomfort head on and accept it with confidence that it too would pass. I left the class feeling lighter, relaxed, inspired and invigorated for the rest of my day.

♦   ♦   ♦

I am excited to see where this journey takes me…

IMG_2367

Leave a Reply

