Dreamy Wanderings on Rainy Days

“Don’t waste time waiting for inspiration.  Begin, and inspiration will find you.”

-H. Jackson Brown Jr.

I’ve been yearning to create lately.  However, I’ve also been experiencing a lack of creative inspiration.  Or, rather, my mind has been experiencing a lack of creative inspiration.  I keep waiting for a muse to hit me upside the head and it doesn’t.  Staying inside over the past few days hasn’t helped much either.  So today, I decided that I needed to make time for art, regardless of the imagination drought I was experiencing.

♦ ♦ ♦

I visited our local tea shop in Hood RiverFullSizeRender (6)The Good Medicine Lounge and spent a few hours there cuddled up next to the fireplace reading Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone.  I have just started rereading the series this week, which has been easy to do with the dark, cold, rainy days we’ve been having lately in the Gorge.  Don’t get me wrong, I love this type of weather, but it’s this constant wet cloudiness that has been encouraging me to cozy-up indoors.  However, today I could take it no more.  I needed to go out and reconnect with Mother Nature.

When in doubt, Nature

I had no idea where to go, I only knew I wanted to go out and away from civilization.  So, without expectation or any particular destination in mind, I packed Siggi and my camera into my Subaru Forester, and we took off into the unknown.  Keeping to the side roads andpineneedles out of the way of town, I drove, letting myself be spontaneously inspired.  Through farmland and orchards, winding roads and quiet lanes, on we went.  Eventually, we came to a steep road that led up into the dense forest.  Without hesitation, I took it.  Paved road soon turned to gravel, and still we went up.  Tiny, shimmering, wet patches of snow started to appear the higher we traveled.

explorer  Rain began sprinkling lightly on the windows.  Feeling inspired, I started looking for a good place to pull off.  Siggi, noticing the slowing of the car, started to run back and forth between the back and front seat in anticipation.  I pulled to the side of the road, turned the car off and let Siggi free.  She immediately bounded out and began exploring and investigating the snow piles.  I took out my camera and started taking photos.  We drove and stopped a couple more times along diggingthe way before my battery died (I forgot to charge it before we left!).  It was such a relaxing, mellow and creative trip that unfolded in such a natural way.  I found myself feeling rejuvenated.  Letting nature guide you in the moment with no plan is an extremely meditative experience.

Let Go and Just Do

Just moving, with an inspired spontaneity can be so refreshing for the soul. Oftentimes, I want to create art, but because I don’t have an instant muse, I dismiss that longing.  Today showed me that just doing anbunchedd starting with an openness is enough to get the imagination flowing.  Getting out into nature, connecting with the Universe, and letting go of any expectation is where true creativity is born.  For those times when we feel creatively stuck, take the time to go on a dreamy wandering out in the open air.  Let go of waiting for your mind to be inspired; the best art flows from the soul, not the mind.  Open yourself up to possibility.  You art will thank you.  Your soul will thank you.

“It is the marriage of the soul with nature that makes the intellect fruitful, and gives birth to imagination.”

-Henry David Thoreauthorn

Leave a Reply

